7 Wonders of Quito

July 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

Quito is the capital of Ecuador.  The historic center of Quito was designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1978 as it is the best preserved, least altered colonial city in Latin America.  Located high in the Andes Mountains Quito has stunning baroque churches, broad plazas, cobblestone streets and ornate architecture featuring stone carvings and ornate iron works.

Quito was named the Capital of Culture of the Americas this year.  To celebrate the beauty of the city the Municipal District of Metropolitan Quito has launched a new website the 7 Wonders of Quito.  While the site is in Spanish many of the photographs are beautiful and are a wonderful representation of why most visitors to the Galapagos Islands choose to fly via Quito.

View the 7 Wonders of Quito.


Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading 7 Wonders of Quito at GALAPAGOS BLOG.


%d bloggers like this: